24th Annual TEC Awards Winners

The winners of the 24th Annual TEC Awards were announced on Friday, October 3, at the Westin St. Francis in San Francisco.

 Founded in 1985, the Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards is the foremost program recognizing the achievements of audio professionals. Presented annually by the Mix Foundation for Excellence in Audio, the TEC Awards honor the individuals, companies and technical innovations behind the sound of recordings, films, TV shows and live performances.

This year, the award for Creative Achievement in Interactive Entertainment Sound Production was sponsored by G.A.N.G. through the Program Partnership framework. Nominees for this category included:

Bioshock, 2K Games
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, Activision
Halo 3, Microsoft Game Studios
The Orange Box, EA Games
Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune, SCEA

Congratulations to Marty O’Donnell, Jay Weinland, C Paul Johnson and Mat Noguchi, who came away the winners for their work on Halo 3 by Microsoft Game Studios and Bungie.

In addition, T Bone Burnett was inducted to the TEC Hall of Fame for Lifetime Achievement, and Ray Benson was honored with the Les Paul Award for the creative application of audio technology.

For the complete list of all the winners and more information on the Mix Foundation, please click HERE.